Here comes the ECB …

caption
European Central Bank (ECB) President Mario Draghi attends a ceremony to receive the Gold Medal of the Jean Monnet Fondation for Europe in Lausanne, Switzerland May 4, 2017.
source
Reuters/Denis Balibouse

LONDON – The European Central Bank will release its latest monetary policy decisions on Thursday afternoon, following the June meeting of its governing council.

The decision will be released at 12.45 p.m. BST (1.45 p.m. CET).

Monetary policy is set to remain on hold in, with the ECB expected to maintain a deposit rate of -0.4% for banks, a base interest rate of 0.0%, and a quantitative easing (QE) program of up to €60 billion per month.

ECB President Mario Draghi is yet to be convinced that the recent rebound in inflation in the eurozone is durable because wage growth remains sluggish.

Any movement from the ECB would be a major shock, especially given that the bank has given no indication that it plans to shift policy this month.

However, what could change is the wording of the ECB’s statement announcing its decisions. Some market participants are expecting a gradual winding down of the QE programme towards the end of 2017 and any hint of this will be closely watched by the market.

Draghi will take questions from journalists at 1.30 p.m. BST (8.30 a.m. ET) in the Estonian capital Tallinn at the bank’s annual conference away from its Frankfurt HQ. He will likely address the monetary policy decisions, as well as Wednesday’s sudden takeover of Banco Popular by fellow Spanish lender Santander as part of an ECB-backed plan to prevent Popular from collapsing.

Check back for the decision after 12.45.