Nintendo is holding a big event tonight to unveil more details about its new console, the Switch: here’s how to watch

Nintendo’s got a brand new video game console. Well, Nintendo almost has a brand new video game console – the Nintendo Switch (as it’s called) is getting a big official unveil on Thursday night.

source
Nintendo

Are you excited? If you’re into Nintendo, you should probably be pretty pumped. A brand new console! These things don’t happen very often.

That said, outside of a single video showcasing the console, Nintendo’s said next to nothing about the Switch. Here’s a quick rundown:

    It’s named Nintendo Switch. It’s a home console (as seen above), and it’s also a portable console. It’s set to launch in March. There’s a “Legend of Zelda” game in the works, as well as a new “Super Mario” game.

That’s pretty much it! That leaves a lot of unanswered questions. What games will launch alongside the console? How much does it cost? When, exactly, can we buy one of these things? How capable is it compared with the competition from Sony and Microsoft?

caption
This is how Nintendo’s Switch console works on-the-go — the same games on a smaller, mobile unit.
source
Nintendo

All of these questions – and more, we expect – are due to be answered on Thursday evening. Nintendo’s holding a press conference where it promises to detail the Switch. But Nintendo is a Japanese company, and that means a big reveal in Tokyo.

What do we do?! Simple: There’s a stream!

source
Nintendo

There is, of course, a downside: The presentation doesn’t start until 11 p.m. ET.

If you’re in Tokyo, that’s not a problem at all – due to the time difference, the event in Tokyo actually takes place at 1 p.m. local time on Friday, January 13. Since our office is based in New York City, we’re staying up late and covering the event live.

Here’s a quick rundown of what time the event will be streamed in your time zone:

    London: 4 a.m., Friday, January 12 NYC: 11 p.m., Thursday, January 12 Chicago: 10 p.m., Thursday, January 12 LA: 8 p.m., Thursday, January 12 Tokyo: 1 p.m., Friday, January 13 Sydney: 3 p.m., Friday, January 13

You might be wondering where you can watch the stream at this point. You’ve got at least two options: Nintendo’s YouTube channel is one option, as is Nintendo’s Twitch channel.

source
Nintendo

We’ve got the presentation embedded right here: