Anwar Ibrahim could return to parliament soon as he gets ready to contest in Port Dickson by-election

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (above) will contest the Port Dickson seat vacated by Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah.

Port Dickson Member of Parliament, Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah, announced his resignation on Wednesday (Sept 12), and the move could spark Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s return to parliament.

The latter, who is the Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) president-elect, is set to contest the seat in Negeri Sembilan in a by-election.

On his potential successor, Mr Danyal said: “I hope voters of Port Dickson would give the same support, if not greater, to their future MP, Anwar Ibrahim.” A press conference was held on the same day and streamed ‘live’ on Facebook. Watch it here:

A former naval officer, Mr Danyal is new to Port Dickson and has no grassroots support in his constituency or as a PKR elected representative.

The Straits Times reported the 68-year-old was asked to contest in Port Dickson 24 hours before nomination day as a last-minute replacement for fellow PKR member Rosman Jonet as the latter was penalised by the Election Commission for not submitting a report on his spending during the contest for the Linggi state seat in 2013.

“I was actually asked to contest in Tambun (Perak) at first,” said Mr Danyal, who is also a former vice-president of the Olympic Council of Malaysia, in the same report.

He is relatively unknown within the PKR fold as he only officially became a member recently.