Asia’s top 10 innovators under 35 have been revealed for 2018 – and here they are

After scouring through 132 nominations from talented researchers, inventors and entrepreneurs across the region, MIT Technology Review has announced the top 10 innovators under 35 in Asia for 2018.

And seven of them are based in Singapore.

Now in its fifth edition, the “Innovators under 35 Asia” is an annual tribute organised by MIT Technology Review, a digitally-oriented independent media company that aims to explain the commercial, social, and political impact of new technologies.

The 10 honourees have been recognised either for their development of new technologies or their creative application of existing technologies to solve global problems.

They were chosen from nominations received from countries in the region including Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, Vietnam, Taiwan, Australia and New Zealand.

They will present a three-minute elevator pitch at EmTech Asia – a conference about emerging technologies – to be held from Jan 30 to 31 next year.

They will go on to become candidates and potential finalists for the ‘Global Innovators Under 35’ list celebrated in the fall of 2018 in Boston.

Past global honourees have included Facebook’s Mark Zuckerberg, Google’s Sergey Brin and Larry Page, and Spotify’s Daniel Ek.

The 2018 honourees are:

Ajay Prakash Kottapalli, Singapore

Singapore MIT Alliance for Research and Technology (Smart)

In 2016, Mr Kottapalli founded a startup company called Sensornomics Pte Ltd, which envisions to create new standards of care in biomedical devices.

His research is focused on nature-inspired miniaturised sensors, that create new standard of care in biomedical flow sensing.

Anjali Jaiprakash, Australia

Queensland University of Technology

Dr Anjali Jaiprakash has won numerous awards including a 2017 Tall Poppy Science Award, and was announced as one of the world’s ’25 women in robotics you need to know about’ in 2017 by RoboHub, a non-profit online communication platform.

She is also working on a light field retinal diagnostic system that will decrease preventable blindness globally.

Khoo Bee Luan, Singapore

Singapore MIT Alliance for Research and Technology (SMART)

Dr Khoo Bee Luan is a biomedical scientist who leads a research team under the Young Investigator grant award by the National Medical Research Council.

She is working on designing microfluidic models to deliver real-time therapeutic read-outs with direct translational relevance for cancer.

Jiashi Feng, Singapore

National University of Singapore

Dr Jiashi Feng is currently an assistant professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the National University of Singapore (NUS).

His current research interest focuses on Artificial Intelligence (AI), machine learning and computer vision. He has also enabled computers to grow learning ability with dynamic neural networks.

Wesley Zheng Guangyuan, Singapore


Dr Wesley Zheng Guangyuan is currently a scientist with A*Star, and an adjunct assistant professor in NUS. He co-founded a venture-backed startup (volans-i) to develop a high-payload, long-range delivery drone.

He is also developing high energy density lithium batteries for automotive, aerial and renewable storage applications.

Chun-Hao Huang, Taiwan


Dr ​Chun-Hao Huang is a cancer biologist, genetic engineer and AI entrepreneur. He is also a fellow of the 64th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting, and has received a Google Scholarship to attend the Singularity University in NASA. 

He is being recognised for merging functional genomics and artificial intelligence for disease detection and treatment.

Min Hao Wong, Singapore

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mr Min Hao Wong is currently a Chemical Engineering graduate student at MIT, and his work has been featured in global media outlets such as FOX, Forbes, TIME, BBC, and CBS.

He is also developing unique nano sensor constructs for smart agriculture application.

Qilin Wang, Australia

Griffith University

Dr Qilin Wang is an Australian Research Council (ARC) DECRA research fellow & lecturer at Griffith University in Australia.

He is recognised for transforming wastewater treatment plants into energy generating facilities, using an on-site renewable chemical.

Weibo Gao, Singapore

Nanyang Technological University

Mr Weibo Gao is currently a assistant professor at Nanyang Technological University. He has won the Marie-Curie Fellowship in European Union, and was also the recipient of the National 100 Excellent Doctoral Dissertation Award in China.

He is recognised for his exploration of the spin photon interface for its application in quantum network and quantum information processing.

Yok Hian Chionh, Singapore

Tychan Pte Ltd

Mr Yok Hian Chionh believes that the war against infections can be won if we proactively create systems that rapidly design cures, respond to, and treat patients during outbreaks. He also helped to develop an anti-Zika therapeutic drug.

He is recognised for his work in developing therapeutic solutions against deadly infections.