Nomination Day has been set, and Singaporeans could be voting for the next president on Sept 23

Presidential hopefuls Salleh Marican, Halimah Yacob and Farid Khan
Photos: The Straits Times, Lianhe Zaobao

The writ of election has been issued by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Singapore could go to the polls on Sept 23 if more than one candidate stands nominated on Nomination Day, the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) said on Monday (Aug 28).

If there is only one eligible candidate by Nomination Day, he or she will be automatically declared the President.

Nomination Day will fall on September 13, and the auditorium of People’s Association at King George’s Avenue has been set as the Nomination Place.

Presidential Election 2017 is a reserved election for candidates from the Malay community, and the winner will be the second Malay president in Singapore’s history since its first head of state, Mr Yusof Ishak.

So far, three people have expressed their intention to run for president.

They are: Farid Khan, 61, chief of regional marine services firm Bourbon Offshore Asia; former Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob, 63; and Salleh Marican, 67, CEO of Second Chance Properties.

According to PMO’s statement, chief executive of the Energy Market Authority Mr Ng Wai Choong has been appointed this year’s Returning Officer.

Under Singapore rules, candidates must submit the Nomination Paper with a Certificate of Eligibility, a Community Certificate certifying that he/she belongs to the Malay community, and the Political Donation Certificate.

Application forms to apply for the above certificates can be obtained from the Elections Department during office hours or from its website.

Applications for the Certificate of Eligibility and the Community Certificate must reach the Elections Department not later than 5pm on Sept 4, while applications for the Political Donation Certificate must reach the department by 1pm on Sept 9.


The Nomination Paper and certificates must be delivered in duplicate by the prospective candidate in person together with his/her proposer, seconder and at least four assentors to the Returning Officer between 11am and 12noon on Nomination Day.

This year, there will also be a new form for candidates to voluntarily undertake that they will conduct their election campaign in a manner that is dignified, decorous and consistent with the President’s position as the Head of State and the symbol of national unity.

The form can be obtained from the Elections Department during office hours or from its website. Signed undertakings will be put up on the notice board, together with the Nomination Paper and certificates, during nomination proceedings on Nomination Day.

Candidates are also required to pay a $43,500 deposit in cash, bank draft of certified cheque by 12 noon on Nomination Day.

Outgoing President Tony Tan Keng Yam’s term ends on Thursday (Aug 31), and he will not be seeking re-election.

Chairman of the Council of Presidential Advisers, Mr J.Y. Pillay, will be Acting President until the new president is sworn in.