Here’s what time the 2018 Winter Olympics opening ceremony will start where you live

The 2018 Winter Olympics opening ceremony starts this week.

caption
The 2018 Winter Olympics opening ceremony starts this week.
source
Getty Images

  • Here’s what time the 2018 Winter Olympics opening ceremony will start depending on where you live.

The 2018 Winter Olympics opening ceremony kicks off on Friday, February 9.

The ceremony will take place at the PyeongChang Olympic Stadium, a 35,000 capacity venue temporarily built for the opening and closing ceremonies at this year’s games.

It cost $78 million to build the stadium, but spectators and locals won’t be able to enjoy it for long, as it’s set to be dismantled soon after the end of the Winter Olympics.

At the opening ceremony, all athletes competing at the games will march into the stadium during an event known as the Parade of Nations.

The ceremony will be a celebration of Korean culture, Korean pop music, and Korean history. One of the goals of the Olympics – peace – has seemingly been brought about if only for Friday, as embattled nations North Korea and South Korea have agreed to parade under one flag.

Here are the opening ceremony start times in major cities across different time zones on Friday, February 9:

  • PyeongChang in South Korea (KST): 8 p.m.
  • New York (ET): 6 a.m.
  • Chicago (CT): 5 a.m.
  • Denver (MT): 4 a.m.
  • Las Vegas (PT): 3 a.m.
  • Los Angeles (PT): 3 a.m.
  • Honolulu (HAST): 1 a.m.
  • Sydney (AET): 10 p.m.
  • Tokyo (JST): 8 p.m.
  • Moscow (MSK): 2 p.m.
  • Paris (CEST): 12 p.m.
  • London (GMT): 11 a.m.

The opening ceremony for the 2018 Winter Olympics will be broadcast in the US on the NBC Olympics website, as well as the NBC Sports app.

BBC One will broadcast the event in the UK from 10.30 a.m. local time. It will also air on Eurosport 1 at 10.30 a.m.

You can see the full schedule of events here.